01 November 2018
Visegrad Eastern Partnership Literary Award

On the 19th June 2018 Visegrad Eastern Partnership Literary Award jury meeting took place in Prague. There were 5 members of the jury – Tereza Chlaňová and Hana Kosáková (Faculty of Arts, Charles University, Prague), Ĺubor  Matejko (Faculty of Arts, Comenius University in Bratislava), Katarzyna Jakubowska-Krawczyk (Department of Ukrainian Studies of the University of Warsaw), Lajos Pálfalvi (Assocation of Hungarian Literary Translators, Budapest). There were 14 nominations 5 countries (Armenia, Moldova, Georgia, Belarus, Ukraine). Finally 8 books were chosen to decide – Serhiy Zhadan Ukraine (Iнтeрнат), Vladimir Rafeenko Ukraine (Дoлгoта днeй), Artem Czech Ukraine (Toчка нуль), Oleksnadr Doczynec Ukraine (Мафтeй. Kнига написана сухим пeрoм), Susanna Harutyunyan Armenia (The Ravens Before Noa), Marcel Gherman Moldova (Parallel Universes), Archil Kikodze Georgia (Southern Elephant), Alhierd Bakharevich Belarus (Dogs of Europe). The decision was not easy, discusion took nearly two hours and finally the jury agreed upon Владимир Рафeeнкo. Congratulations! Now we are preparing the translation of the book by Vladimir Rafeenko into Czech, in autumn the book will be published in the publishing house Větrné mlýny (Brno).

The Visegrad Eastern Partnership Award project (VEaPLA) presents authors of poetry, fiction and non-fiction literary works countries of the Eastern Partnership (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldavia and Ukraine to readers Central Europe.

The ambition of the project is to create a platform for a cooperation among intellectuals working in the field of literature of the post-Soviet area and in the V4 countries, to support important cultural personalities and ideals of freedom of literary creation.


Within the project, a database of authors, literary reviews, publishing houses and literary awards, festivals, competitions and events of the literary life scene in the countries of the Eastern Partnership is being created.
The database is open to public, contributions and suggestions can be sent via our blog.

Writers’ House of Georgia © 2014
created by metaphor