01 October 2019

On October 2nd, Bozar Center for Fine Arts in Brussels will hold the EU Prize for Literature Award Ceremony with participation of 14 winner authors, among them will be Beka Adamashvili.

The winners were announced on May 22nd, in Brussles, at Permanent Representation of Romania to the EU by Minister of Culture of Romania Mr. Valer-Daniel Breaz and by EU Education, Culture, Youth and Sport Commissioner, Mr. Tibor Navracsics.

The contest was announced on February 13th, 2019 for countries participating in “Creative Europe” Program. It was made possible by European and International Booksellers Federation, European Writers’ Council and EU Federation of European Publishers.

Together with Beka Adamashvili, the laureates of 2019 EU Prize for Literature Award were Jan Carson (Ireland), Nikos Chryssos  (Greece), Sophie Daull  (France), Ivana Dobrakovová (Slovakia), Giovanni Dozzini  (Italy), Marta Dzido (Poland), Laura Freudenthaler (Austria), Melissa Harrison (United Kingdom), Piia Leino (Finland), Réka Mán-Várhegyi (Hungary), Daina Opolskaite (Lithuania), Haska Shyyan (Ukraine), Tatiana Țîbuleac (Romania).

Each laureate will receive monetary prize of EUR 5000. Their texts will be issued in English and in French and will be published in one collection.

In each participant country, a special jury was created, that ed the winner. In Georgia, a 5 member jury was ed including the following members: Natalia Lomouri, director at Writers’ House, Medea Meterveli, director at Georgian National Book Center, Tinatin Beriashvili, director at Georgian Publishers and Booksellers Association, Paata Shamugia, poet and translator, president of Pen-Center Georgia, Dato Barbaqadze, writer and translator.

The publisher was eligible to present the book and author for contest. Each publisher could present maximum 5 literary (not children’s or documentary) books. Also the jury members had the right to present the contest candidates.

The EU Prize for Literature awards and acknowledges emerging authors gifted with literary talent, emphasizes richness of contemporary European literature and simultaneously focuses on unique cultural and linguistic legacy of the continent. During the 10 year history of existence of EU Prize for Literature, 108 authors 4 countries have been awarded. Last year, the EU Prize for Literature celebrated its 10-year anniversary with contest of novellas, “European stories”. All laureates previous year could participate in contest. At the initial stage of its history’s new cycle, the Prize announced the laureates Georgia and Ukriane for the first time.

The EU Prize for Literature is held by European and International Booksellers Federation, European Writers’ Council and EU Federation of European Publishers and by support of European Commission. The award is financed by Creative Europe and all countries that participate in 2014-20 EC funded program for creative sectors are eligible to apply.

 Each contesting year, in each country a national jury is staffed by experts areas of literature, publishing and bookselling.  After ing 3 to 5 authors, each national jury s a laureate. The laureates are awarded monetary prizes, their recognition rises abroad and internationally, which starts by award ceremony in Brussels and continues by engagement in Europe’s book fairs and other events.

 You can view the full information about the contest in this link: 




Writers’ House of Georgia © 2014
created by metaphor