01 June 2020
The winners of the festival

On June 8-14, the Writers' House will host the Genre Literature Festival Insomnia in its walls. The finalists of the first Georgian genre festival are:

  • Tei Sachaleli
  • Nino Chincharauli
  • Tengiz Tadumadze
  • Sidonia Turashvili
  • Koka Chankotadze
  • Elene Meskhi
  • Anuki Shatakishvili


The winning seven will spend one night, a full 12 hours for a week in the building of the Writers' House and create work in the science fiction, fantasy and horror genres.


The works created by the winning contestants will be published in one collection by Sulakauri Publishing House. The winners will receive symbolic gifts the Writers' House in the form of bookstore vouchers. In September of this year, a collection of texts created within the framework of the festival will be presented.


The aim of the festival is to encourage the development of modern genre literature, which in turn will help to intensify literary and publishing activities; Creation and popularization of literary works of Georgian fantasy and science fiction genre.


The idea of ​​the project belongs to the writer Zaza Koshkadze. The festival has been held since 2013 as a result of the author's collaboration with various publishing houses. In 2020, the festival will be organized by the Writers' House for the first time.

Writers’ House of Georgia © 2014
created by metaphor