18 December 2020
The winners of Literary Award “Litera for Translators” are known

The winners of Literary Award “Litera for Translators” are known. The winners of the first translation contest were announced by a five-member jury, whose members were: Levan Berdzenishvili, Manana Matiashvili, Manana Gharibashvili, Davit Kakabadze and Tamar Sukhishvili.


Out of 92 entries, 18 translators were shortlisted, and the first laureates of “Litera for Translators” are:


• Best young translator

 Salome Benidze, Rupi Kauri, "Milk and Honey"; Palitra-L Publishing;


• Best Translation of humanitarian-scientific and popular-scientific literature

Lali Unapkoshvili, Julien Grack, "The Shape of a City"; Agora Publishing;


• Best prose translation

Zaza Chiladze, William Faulkner, "The Unvanquished", Artanuji Publishing;


Elza Akhvlediani was awarded the Davit Tserediani Award for contribution to the field of translation.


The translation contest "Litera for Translators" was established in 2020 with the financial support of the Ministry of Education, Science, Culture and Sports of Georgia and the initiative of the Writers' House and was held for the first time this year. The purpose of the award is to promote and stimulate translation activities.


Writers’ House of Georgia © 2014
created by metaphor