04 April 2016
Shortlist of "Litera Award"

The shortlist of new literary award "Litera" was identified. The jury revealed finalists in 5 nominations. The nominations of the new award are:

  • year's best prose collection / novel;
  • year's best poetry collection;
  • year's best debut;
  • year's best children's book;
  • year's best book design;

In 2015, Ministry of Culture and Monument Protection of Georgia, together with Writers’ House established a new literary award “Litera”. The goal of this award is encouragement and activation of literary processes in the country. This contest, along with other awards will contribute to the authors’ motivation for writing and development.  

Any original literary writing either published electronically or as a book, in Georgia during 2015 was eligible to participate in the contest. Out of 99 books, which entered the contest, 22 reached the final stage.

The finalists of Litera 2016 are:


Year's best children's book:

Nino Sadghobelashvili- Intelekti Publishing;

Nato Davitashvili - Books in Batumi Publishing;

Vano Chkhikvadze - Gori Writers' House.


Year's best debut:

Nana Eqvtimishvili - Bakur Sulakauri Publishing;

Iunona Guruli - Saunje Publishing;

Davit Chochua - Books in Batumi Publishing.


Year's best poetry collection:

Besik Kharanauli - Intelekti Publishing;

Zviad Ratiani - Diogene Publishing;

Diana Anphimiadou - Intelekti Publishing;

Nato Ingorokva - Intelekti Publishing;

Kato Javakhishvili - Intelekti Publishing;


Year's best prose collection / novel:

Giorgi Kekelidze - Books in Batumi Publishing;

Dato Qardava - Intelekti Publishing;

Tamta Melashvili - Bakur Sulakauri Publishing;

Marika Mamaladze - Intelekti Publishing;

Zaza Burchuladze - Bakur Sulakauri Publishing. 


Year's best book design:

Collection "Georgian poetry twentieth century" (Diogene); book cover design: Kote Sulaberidze;

Gia Edzgveradze - Bakur Sulakauri Publishing, book cover design: Gia Edzgveradze;

Michel Houellebecq - "The Possibility of an Island" (Bakur Sulakauri Publishing); book cover design: tamuna Tateladze.

Series "Americans" (Diogene); book cover design: Besik Danelia.


Each winner of Litera award will be awarded monetary prize - Gel 5000.

The winners will be announced on April 20th at the award ceremony at Writers' House.




Writers’ House of Georgia © 2014
created by metaphor