24 December 2016
Vakhushti Kotetishvili Award Ceremony

On December 23rd Writers' House held Vakhushti Kotetishvili award ceremony for poetry translation.

In the nomination for translated poetry book, the prize went to Giorgi Lobjanidze for the book “Modern Persian Literature” (publishing house “Caucasian House”).

In the nomination for translated poetry published in literature magazines, the price went to Diana Anthimiadou and Asja Darbinian for their translation of Armenian poet Violet Grigoryan’s poetry in the magazine “Akhali Saunje”.

The following books and publications were presented for the Award:



Edgar Lee Masters “ed Epithaphs”  - translated by Keti Nijaradze; publishing house “Intelekti publishing”;

French Chansons – translated by Bachana Chabradze; publishing house “Intelekti publishing”; 

Modern Persian Poetry – translated by Giorgi Lobjanidze; publishing house “Caucasian House”;

George Gordon Byron “Poetry”- translated by Otar Tsiskadze; publishing house “Musical Foundation”.



Magazine “Akhali Saunje”

Kimberly Johnson translated by Manana Matiashvili

Violet Grigoryan translated by Diana Anthimiadou and Asja Darbinian

Alexander Galper translated by Lela Kodalashvili

Ingeborg Bakhman translated by Maya Liparterliani

Billy Collins translated by Dalila Gogia

Heiner Muller translated by Lulu Dadiani


Magazine “Arili”

Elizabeth Bishop translated by Manana Matiashvili

Kimberly Johnson translated by Manana Matiashvili

Sergei Zhadan translated by Zviad Ratiani

Olga Sedakova translated by Lulu Dadiani

Deni Lavertov, Diana Di Prima translated by Ephemia Chavchanidze

Sheron Olds translated by Dalila Gogia

Lawrence Ferlinghetti translated by Dalila Gogia

Iosif Brodsky translated by Batu Danelia

Christine Lavant translated by Maia Liparteliani

Vakhushti Kotetishvili prize for poetry translation is a joint project by Writers' House and publishing house “Diogene”, funded by the Ministry of Culture and Monument Protection of Georgia.

Writers’ House of Georgia © 2014
created by metaphor